top of page

Immense Gratitude


It has been a while since I've updated the blog. A lot has happened, both on the house and during the summer.

First of all, I broke my tibia and fibia. Everyone wants to know what happened so I will address that first. I stood as a groomsmaid, yes you've read that correctly, in a fellow veteran's wedding in Chicago in Mid-June. It was quite an honor to be a part of his big day! I had the time of my life for four days in Hyde Park. The wedding party was so much fun and it was so good to reunite with one of my close, dear friends. Well as us sailors like to do, at the after-party (yes, I made it through all the parties, rehearsals, ceremony and the reception!) I was rough housing with Theron, the groom. I went to trip him from behind, we both fell backwards and in a freak accident I heard a crack. Boom, down like Jell-O on the bar floor. I would like to blame the bourbon the Best Man was feeding me after the reception but in reality I can only blame myself for being wild and reckless. A broken leg was a long time coming in my many ATV stunts, sports and other shenanigans I've pulled in my 33 years so I wasn't too upset. Plus I got a lot of love in the hospital while I was stranded in Chicago for surgery- 5 bouquets! So grateful for all the love shown to me!

Last weekend I finally moved into the house. A lot has been completed but very slowly. I was supposed to be working on it, but finally got off crutches a few weeks ago and into a walking cast. The foundation work, electrical and plumbing are complete. Now that I have an upstairs bathroom I figured it was finally time to move in. I bought the house 11 months ago so it just felt like the time had come. It's somewhat like camping out because there's no kitchen and a lot of construction materials everywhere. What's left to be done is the kitchen cabinets will go in tomorrow, the downstairs bathroom needs to be completed, the floors need to be sanded and refinished, and lots of painting! My mom and I plan to paint the upstairs bedrooms this weekend. The only part of this project I really do love and have fun with is going to the hardware store and contemplating paint colors. I could pick out paint all day.

I've also been planning a fundraiser most of the summer. It's been a long time since I've done this, probably 10 years! It's fun but along with working on renovating a house somewhat stressful. Hopefully people will come since everything else has been lined up.

Now it's time to take a break from the stress and give gratitude to God and so many people who have helped me over the summer. I have to give credit where credit is due:

Father Tom, for being my rock, a great listener, friend and believing in me.

Father Marc from St. Gabriel's Parish in SW, for being a different kind of adviser, reaching out to his parish for laborers, introducing me to his parish and bringing over his youth group to help scrape paint two weeks in a row.

John Lowe from St. Gabriel's for volunteering to do dry wall.

Mary Beecy, Paddy Lynch and Jessie Nigl for helping plan the fundraiser at the Gaelic Leauge.

Pat Atchinson and Jeanne Rem, friends from Manna Meal for washing the walls to prep for painting.

Mike Bogdan for helping me schlep furniture over to my garage and giving me unlimited access to his truck.

All businesses, especially in Corktown, who have given gift certificates for raffle items for the upcoming fundraiser!

My neighbors Dan and Cynthia for watching my property for the last 11 months, and for being my new friends on the block and in Detroit.

My beloved mother, Eliza Wendling, for collecting a hope chest for me- filling up her garage, being my life-long rock, helping me with dirty demolition and coming down to paint despite her own work life and her own cabin project she has going on. I have the best mom in the world and anyone who has personally met her and/ or seen her in action will agree my mom is a very good mom.

Pat Brown for being a listener, taking care of me when I was on crutches, being a good friend and helping me plan the upcoming fundraiser. Pat also painted my upstairs bathroom (shhh blue). He also bought gift certificates out of pocket for the event and got me really cool Modelo mirrors to raffle.

John Freeman and The Codgers for agreeing to perform at no cost, out of the kindness of their hearts, for my fundraiser.

I am sure I've missed a few people but this blog is long enough.

Thanks be to God.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page