top of page

Long Over Due Updates


It's been quite awhile since I've updated the blog, so there are quite a few pictures and LOTS of stories to share as the house has seen it's fair share of guests before renovations were even complete!

First of all, this house of hospitality could not have come to be without tremendous support from friends and family. I am constantly reminded of friendship, family, love and support everywhere I turn in this house with every piece of furniture, appliance, piece of art and everything in between that was donated to make it all come together. Sometimes I feel very alone but I must remind myself of all the help and love I received, especially from my two dear sweet mothers, my biological mother- Eliza and my second mom- Mama Moe (Maureen Harris).

The guest have come from here and there. My first guest, a young man named Aaron, called about staying here and was seeking political asylum from Uganda. He was very pleasant and cooked wonderful meals from his home country. He has since moved to Boston and found work as a graphic design artist. He came before the downstairs was finished and we had any appliances this summer. We were eating a lot of microwavable food and taco truck! We we were so excited to finally see a fridge... then a stove as it all pieced together.

A young, married couple with a two year old girl was referred by an elderly couple from my church. They have both found part-time jobs and the young man is paying back tickets so he can get his licence back. He plans to enroll in an HVAC trade school next month and needs his license as part of the application process. They are very quiet and keep to themselves yet the young man has helped with painting, drywall and other projects around the house.

We have seen two other single mothers with toddlers. The one was a wonderful mom (her son was only 3 and could read!) She was in a full time culinary program and her son went to day care- they needed a place to stay before they got their own housing situation together as her step-dad kicked her out. The other was 7 months pregnant (with a 2 year old) and became violent on Christmas, attacking me and attempting to steal my cell phone and car before the police came. This is, unfortunately, part of the reality of bringing in homeless people. Many suffer from mental illness and this particular young woman was raised in a high security foster care home and was diagnosed with PTSD from childhood abuse and trauma. After the attack she would call me regularly like we were old friends (which was pretty scary!)

Two older women are here now. One has severe health problems from a botched surgery and CPD. I took her to the hospital this morning. She is sweet and grateful to have a relaxing, safe place to stay. I told her she could bring her dog, Simone, with her who is her main source of emotional support.

The other woman is battling addiction and is a former prostitute. She is also an amazing cook and blesses our home with lots of soul food! Her daughter, who she hadn't seen in years, and her granddaughter came to visit last weekend. We made breakfast in bed for everyone in the house, colored, made a snowman and went to mass.

I have been seeing God's hand in things as I'm often doing things for people in the house (**rides, helping them to get housing, dog-sitting, job hunting) and become somewhat stressed (do not heat the house by turning the oven on high and leaving it open! do not flush paper towel down the toilet! etc.) so I prayed God would send me someone.

An eccentric culinary artist who I'd met through a friend randomly showed up the next night (she said God told me to come1 WOW!) and stayed with us for 10 days, making us the most delicious meals and bringing lots of personality and (much needed) laughter over.

Oh yes, I also rescued a basset hound from a shelter in Ohio. Her name is Olive and she has the sweetest (and a very mischievous) disposition about her. The two year old loves her. The former prostitute wants to kill her.

Please keep me and my household in your prayers!

XO-

Cara


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page